Curragh Village, Ardmore Bay, County Waterford : Architectural Drawings of Irish Traditional Houses
Explore detailed surveys of Irish homes drawn in 1943
John Cumming, Patrick Hamilton and Robin Walker (later of Scott, Tallon and Walker Architects), surveyed the 38 houses in the village of Curragh, Co. Waterford during the summer of 1943 when they were architect students at University College Dublin.
The houses of Curragh were a mixture of one, two or three roomed homes at the time of the survey. Built of stone and yellow clay, most of the houses were whitewashed on the outside.
According to a report by Robin Walker in the Irish Times of July 9th 1943, the surveyors found ‘fine specimens of early nineteenth-century carved dressers and settles, rich with classical decoration’. The dressers had carved pillars at the side crowned with cornices, and decorated panelling on the lower portion. The surveyors also noted old style canopied beds, known as ‘covered cars’ in many houses.
Today, the sites of this well situated village are highly sought at prices unimaginable to the original dwellers.
Co. Waterford, Curragh - Plan, section, part section, elevation, elevation of half door, settle, coop, and window detail, 1945
County Waterford, Curragh - Plan and farmyard layout, elevation to S.E., section, details of dresser, windows, wooden bolt, part elevation of gate, 1945
County Waterford, Curragh - Plan, front elevation, isometric sketch of living room and section of house, 1945
County Waterford, Curragh - Plan, front elevation, section, and drawings of furniture, pottery, glass and fireplace equipment