The Building & Architecture
Step into the main courtyard and step back in time. Repurposed to become the Decorative Art & History location for the National Museum of Ireland, Collins Barracks still retains an air of grandeur from its previous use as an army barracks.
A Guinness World Record?
The longest-serving barracks is believed to be the Collins Barracks, formerly known as the Royal Barracks. Completed in 1704, it housed military for over 290 years before being taken over by the National Museum of Ireland in 1997.
The barracks and central square are named after Michael Collins, the first Commander-in-Chief of the Irish Free State Army.
Out of Storage
This location allowed for the display of collections that had been in storage since 1922, when government took over the Museum's exhibition galleries and curatorial offices in Leinster House. Find out more about the history and architecture of the National Museum of Ireland - Decorative Arts & History, Collins Barracks.