National Museum of Ireland Ard-Mhúsaem na hÉireann

Board of the National Museum of Ireland

Minutes of the EGM of the Board on Tuesday 12th December 2017 at 6pm

Present:	Ms. Catherine Heaney (Chair)	Ms. Judith McCarthy (by phone)
	Mr. John Bowen (by phone)	Ms. Denise Moroney (minutes)
	Ms Mary Crotty	Dr. Andrew Power
	Professor Ingrid Hook	Professor Mary O'Dowd (by phone)
	Ms. Mary Crotty	Ms. Virginia Teehan
	Professor Kathleen James-Chakraborty	Mr. Aidan Walsh
Apologies:	Mr. Ambrose Loughlin	Professor Gearóid Ó Tuathaigh
	Mr. Declan Nelson	-
In attendance:	Ms Jennifer Keane (Secretary to the Board, NMI) Item 1 only	

1. <u>Opening of meeting, apologies if any, and adoption of the agenda</u>

The Chair opened the meeting. Apologies were recorded from Mr. Ambrose Loughlin, Professor Gearóid Ó Tuathaigh and Mr Declan Nelson.

The agenda was adopted and the Board decided to deliberate in camera.

Ms Moroney agreed to take the minutes of the meeting. Ms Keane left the meeting.

Transition arrangements during the Director's period of leave

The Transition arrangements during the absence of the Director were discussed, three options were considered.

It was agreed to appoint a suitable consultant to support a transition phase at the Museum, and function was delegated to the HR Committee to consider an appropriate person/ consultancy.

In the event of no options being available, the responsibility for transitioning would need to be delegated to Board members. The Chair will seek clarity from the Department regarding delegation of this function to the Board.

HR position

Ms Teehan advised the Board that two suitable candidates have been identified. The HR Committee was given the authority from the board to make the HR appointment.

Appointment of Director

A unanimous decision was taken to appoint Ms Lynn Scarff as the incoming Director of the Museum. Ms Heaney will communicate with Ms Scarff on the matter.

There being no further business to discuss, the meeting was brought to a close.