Skip to content

From 1785: The Royal Irish Academy

Mace of the Corporation of Naas, silver, c. 1650, probably Dublin. DM:1861.574

Discover artefacts originally collected by the Royal Irish Academy, now on show in the Out of Storage exhibition.

Founded in 1785 to promote pure science, history, antiquities and literature, the Royal Irish Academy concentrated on collecting Irish antiquities, many of which are now displayed in the Out of Storage gallery.

What artefacts you can see from this period at Out of Storage

However, consistent with its policy of documenting Irish history, the Academy also acquired such items as Dean Swift’s wine bottles, dating from 1729, which were probably amongst the first glass bottles made in Dublin.

On display in Out of Storage too is the 17th century silver mace of the Corporation of Naas, Co. Kildare, which was presented to the Academy by a descendant of Thomas Burgh, the architect of Collins Barracks.

Sign up to our newsletter

Keep up to date

Receive updates on the latest exhibitions