Explore Ireland's National Folklife Collection across four floors of modern, award-winning exhibition galleries. Objects, interactive audio and visual displays, rare photography and archive film footage depict the lifestyles, customs and traditions of our rural ancestors.
Visit historic Turlough Park House, located just next to the main museum galleries. This Victorian Gothic mansion dates to 1865. It was the ancestral home of the Fitzgeralds, an influential family of landowners with an interesting history in the region.
The Green Flag award-winning gardens are some of the loveliest in the region with lots of interesting features and things to see and do. Today, the gardens and grounds are maintained by the OPW and Mayo County Council.
Have a bite to eat or a sweet treat in the Museum café. If the weather is nice, enjoy the outdoor seating in the courtyard. The Courtyard Gallery next door also has a changing programme of art exhibitions
There are several outdoor artworks located throughout the grounds. One such sculpture by Barry Linnane is called 'Portal' and reflects the circle of life. The lakeside sculpture is 'Raon an Tuthail' by Colm Brennan and is inspired by childhood memories of rushes being cut with a reaping hook.
The original glass house was built between 1874 and 1875. It was destroyed by a violent storm in the 1930s. Mayo County Council restored the structure in 2000. It serves as a central focal point for the gardens.
Immerse yourself in nature in our Green Heritage site. Enjoy a peaceful walk around the lake or through the woods. There are lots of built and natural heritage features to explore and interesting sightings for keen eyed nature enthusiasts.
Ancient Round Tower
Turlough Round Tower is a national monument, attached to a 17th century church overlooking the grounds of the Museum. It is a well preserved example of a round tower, dating to the ninth century, on the site of an older abbey - possibly founded by St Patrick.
Spectacularly located, the award-winning woodland playground at Turlough Park features a giant slide, swings, climbing bars and natural play features.
See the remains of the original Fitzgerald residence, built in 1722 by Thomas Fitzgerald. The family lived there until 1786 and it was also the home of the infamous George Robert 'Fighting Fitzgerald'.